Halloween and the origin story:

Halloween has always been one of my top 3 favorite holidays and before this research assignment I though I knew a great deal about the origins of Halloween in our American society but while researching and working on this essay I came to learn just how much I was really missing from what I thought I knew. The origins of Halloween come from a Celtic background which I knew but I never knew just how the traditions and the holiday itself made its way to America and transformed into what we know it as today. I appreciated this assignment because it was a light, fun and creative piece of work that still allowed us to learn and practice our basic skills that we will need later on in classes while also engaging us with topics that were ultimately fun to research and an every better time creating a presentation on, at least in my opinion they were. The most interesting thing that I would say I learned about the holiday, its origins and the way we celebrate in America today would have to be just how trick-or-treating came to be in our modern society. Stemming from a way to keep mischievous spirits away from villagers homes, to becoming a tool used in deflecting teens and rebellious members of society from Amanda property as  the activities of Halloween began and ultimately finding its way into our modern society as what we currently know it as, a way for children to dress up and go around the neighborhoods in search for candies and other goodies. No matter where we take the tradition in the future the past and origins of it will remain constant.

Leave a comment